Map of Consciousness

Map of Consciousness

So far we have presented contemporary researches that discussed the relationship between mind and matter, the power of the mind, now we moved to reality beyond the mind – spiritual intention. Spiritual intention, unlike ordinary human intention that speaks the individual wishes, corresponds to the attitude and direction of one’s life. It is the general attitude one holds in facing the world, e.g. I want to become rich, I am a helpful person, I loves, etc.  It represents how one chooses to face the world in every situation and point of decision. It represents the core of reality and point of effort of spiritual work.

In the book Power vs. Force (2002), Dr. David R. Hawkins, a psychiatrist and a spiritual teacher, present the Map of Consciousness that outlines the different levels of spiritual intention available in the human world.  It was discovered that these intentions have fundamental influence to one’s life in the area of interest, importance, peace and happiness. There are 3 types of spiritual intentions: the negative, which brings destruction to one’s life, the positive, which brings empowerment and upliftment of one’s life, and the enlightened, which is beyond the limitation of the ego/self. The negative and positive intentions and their applications to spiritual cultivation are presented here:

Negative intentions:

– Shame: One is ashamed of oneself and wants to retreat from the world.

– Guilt: One is guilty of one’s bad, hate one self and/or others.

– Apathy: One live one’s life feeling no hope or help available.

– Sad: One live one’s life grieving about the past.

– Fear: One is afraid of terrible things happening.

– Desire: Live is dominated by desired objects/states and therefore enslaved by them.

– Anger: One sees the world as full of hostile enemies, and attempt to fight against them.

– Pride: One feels better/higher than others, and is the center of the world that others should follow.

Positive intentions:

– Courage: to face the situation

– Neutrality: to allow either/or happen

– Willingness: to work on the situation

– Acceptance: to fully accept the situation

– Reason: to impartially examine and understand the situation

– Love: to care, support, forgive, good will

– Unconditional love: ability to love in all situations

In cultivating one self and helping others, all major religions and spiritual traditions suggest the cultivation of the positive intentions, and the letting go of the negative intentions. Authentic teachings from Daoist, Buddhist, and Confucius traditions all suggest the same thing.